Baby Hargrove Gender Reveal

For this post, I wanted to highlight one of the most fun opportunities I’ve had lately: planning a gender reveal party for my friends, Chris and Carrie.

Chris and Carrie are the youth ministers at my church and over the past 3 years they have become great friends of mine and their friendship is something I cherish. For about a year, I had been trying to convice them that it was time for them to have a baby (you know, so I could baby-sit). Well, in July I received a text from Carrie asking where I had gone after church that morning, followed by this picture:

announcement

When I finished screaming (in the middle of a restaurant, mind you) I immediately decided I wanted to throw their gender reveal party! (Sorry Chris, there’s no other way to call it.) So after a longgggggg first trimester and some weeks, it finally came time to find out what Baby Hargrove was going to be! I got to join their immediate family members the morning of at the ultrasound, and how amazing it was! Seeing Baby Hargrove move and then watch their family react to finding out the gender was surreal. Here is my favorite picture I took that morning of the grandma’s-to-be reaction.

grandmas

I asked Carrie a month before how she would like to reveal to their family and friends the baby’s gender. After perusing Pinterest, we decided on filling a gold balloon with the appropriate color of confetti, then pop the balloon in front of the party guests. I ordered the balloon from here about 3 weeks before and it came in plenty of time. Since we wouldn’t know the gender until the day of the party, I ordered both blue and pink confetti then used the right color.

balloon

Chris and Carrie are both from a town about an hour from where they live now and so I wanted to have the party in that city since most of the guests would be from there. Carrie’s parents were gracious enough to let the party be hosted in their beautiful home. For decorations, I just went with a simple pink and blue theme since Chris and Carrie hadn’t decided on a nursery theme yet. Most of the decorations came from Hobby Lobby, Target, and Party City.

reveal

The Mason drink dispensers were Sharyn’s left from Carrie’s sister’s wedding and were the perfect addition.

drink-dispensers

To know which “team” guests were on, they could choose a clothespin in the correct color and wear on their shirt. My cousin just had a gender reveal party a week before this one and gave me the clothespins (along with some of the other decor). You can buy them plain at any local store with a laundry or craft section, and then purchase tiny spray cans and paint away! The chalkboard is from Kohl’s and the buckets are from Target.

think

After a spread of tailgate type food and some fellowship, we all went outside for the reveal! It was quite windy so Carrie got a mouth full of confetti, but every one was thrilled to find out that Baby Hargrove is a GIRL! (Even their dog, Coal)

confetti

I am so excited for these friends, honored to have done this for them, and I can’t wait to love on Adeline “Addi” Grace Hargrove in February!

addi

I love planning events, so give me a follow and then contact me if you would like help with a party, event, or just a small get together!

Until next time friends,
-S♥

*A special thank you to sweet friends Susanna, Jackie, and Casey for helping with food, Sharyn and Kenny Walker for opening up their home, and the Walker’s and Gregg’s for helping decorate.*

Leave a Reply

